Nissan Armada & Infiniti QX56 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie and have questions and need advice about towing a travel trailer.
My wife and I have owned three motorhomes and decided to give a try RVing with a trailer. Last week we bought a used 2020 Armada SV 4WD with the Premium Package and need to get it set up for towing. (We really like the Armada in spite of the low MPG.) We are planning to purchase a 24’ camper with a max loaded weight of 6,000 pounds. I know the length, trailer GVW, tongue weight, loaded weight in the Armada, and gross combined weight with the Armada are all well within limits. So here are my questions:
1. Do I need to change the hitch on the Armada? I can’t really tell what kind it is.
2. What is the best (and reasonably priced) WD hitch with no sway bars (that can back up)? It looks like Equal-i-zer and Anderson are most popular.
3. The WD hitch simply connects to the receiver on the Armada or do I have to change out the receiver? (Sorry for that dumb question.)
4. What is the best electric brake controller that can plug and play with the Armada? The Tekonsha P2 appears very popular.
5. Is it advisable to install a transmission fluid cooler?
6. Is it advisable to add airbags in the rear suspension coils?
7. Do I keep the cold tire pressure at the normal level?
5. Has anyone installed the Nissan dealer-installed trailering mirrors or what addons would work best?
Thank you all for your expert advice!

·
Registered
219 Posts
I am a newbie and have questions and need advice about towing a travel trailer.