Nissan Armada & Infiniti QX56 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey what's up fellas, so after reading and sharing all kinds of brake information for the past 6-8 months I finally decided to take my baby in and get the brakes done. The dealer I go to is in Nor Cal and I'm pretty close with the service reps. Anyway I found out some interesting things today after speaking in detail with them:

1. The new "Permanent" brake fix does NOT include a larger diameter rotor (As speculated before). However it is thicker and built using a very dense material used in many expensive aftermarket brake kits. Because this is my FIRST time getting the brakes done, they could not give me these new parts. I have to get the second revision, and once those fail then I will be authorized for the latest release. The rep told me it sucks that I have to do that, but that's their orders from Nissan. They only had one set of the new brakes and even the rep told me I will be back after another 4-6K miles to get the latest revision, and he told me he personally thinks the rotors are too small for the size of vehicle....but Nissan probably doesn't want to design and pay for a larger diameter rotor and new calipers.

2. Something interesting that will help many of you. The rattling you hear on some Armada/Titans when acceleration is NOT an engine grounding problem, and is actually a small leak on the exhaust manifold. My dealer was the first to find this out and they said the TSB for it will be out shortly. They basically add some washer somewhere and it will resolve this issue.