Nissan Armada & Infiniti QX56 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, let me say thanks - I've used this forum to fix a few problems, including swapping the rear air leveling system for normal shock and springs. I'm a fairly competent mechanic, but it's nice to have the answers to the test before I start tearing the truck apart.

I have a torn boot on one of my rear cv axles. I've been googling and it seems to be a pretty uncommon problem.

It seems like there are tons of axle repair kits out there, but not many whole CV axles online. However, I've always heard repairing a CV boot is a fool's errand.

Has anyone dealt with this problem, and if so what did you?

Also, on the Land Rover forums there are a few guys who buy old trucks and part them out, and they specialize in Land Rovers. Does anyone do that for Armadas?

·
Premium Member
362 Posts
Yeah, i wouldn't mess around changing the boot, just get a whole new half shaft. They are very affordable + the peace of mind.

·
Premium Member
434 Posts
Another vote for replacing the whole thing. Unless you recently tore the boot there is probably a bunch of crud in there that'll ruin the joint quickly. I don't know how much the rear costs but I bought a front one in the last year and it was $90-100. For that little money I would just want to do the job once.

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, the cheapest I have found so far is $350! It appears that OEM is the only option.

That said, I'm definitely planning to replace it even if it is spendy.

·
Premium Member
118 Posts
If you have another rig and this one can be down for a day or 3 pull the cv axle out and take it in to someone local and see how they feel about rebuilding it. They will probably look at it for less than a minute and say yay or nay and give you a cost on the rebuild. If they are anywhere near approaching half the price of OEM just go that route.

That's what I'd do anyway.

·