Nissan Armada & Infiniti QX56 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone I'm in the market for a large three-row SUV and have been looking at possibly getting a used 2018-2020 Armada SV. I've noticed that according to the Carfax reports that a lot of these are ex-rental vehicles. Are there any concerns with buying one? Are these generally reliable vehicles? What should I be looking out for when test driving and inspecting one?

I've already done a bit of research and found some potential issues with the 5.6L V8 like timing chain guides failing, and the cooling system being another problem area but that was for the Titan pickups. Do these problems exist in the Armada?

I've been cross shopping a Sequoia (family has always had Toyotas) but this is my first time considering a Nissan since they seem to offer excellent value for the money. Thanks for taking the time to read my post. Any other tips would be greatly appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
5,819 Posts
thread for reference:

first gen armadas up to later gens.

i think the timing chain issue does not apply to 2018 year armada. this should be the early 2011-2013 ish qx models. when the second gen armada was made on the same line as the 2nd gen qx, those issues with the timing chain should have been resolved.

what "problem" are you referring to in regards to the cooling system? cant speak for the titan but the model years you are asking for are fine.

i worry about rental cars because people abuse them, and a car is only as good as its previous owner. id advise against a rental from ANY car.

·
Registered
39 Posts